See our development in Llanishen
Llanishen has a rich history that begins in A.D. 535, when a monk named Isan arrived in the wild terrain below Caerphilly Mountain. He established his new religious settlement (“llan”) on the present-day site of the Oval Park, an ideal location offering a ready fresh-water supply at a natural spring. The church dedicated to him was built in its present location in the 12th century.
In the 1860s the Rhymney Railway Company wanted to build a line that involved blasting a tunnel through Caerphilly Mountain near Llanishen, bringing dramatic change to the village. Wealthy businessmen from Cardiff could now move out into the “country” while still being able to commute into the town. Llanishen continued to grow and in 1922 became a suburb of Cardiff.
In 1939 the government established a Royal Ordnance Factory in Llanishen to produce munitions for the war effort. The large expanse of fields nearby was once filled with anti-invasion defences, but by 1941 this danger had receded and the area was used as a landing area for trainee RAF glider pilots.
After the war, the old “glider field” became the home of Llanishen Leisure Centre, while industrial buildings spread over the old farmland. Most of these were replaced in the 2000s by retail parks and housing. Yet Llanishen has retained its village feel, with its bustling heart still focused around St Isan’s Church.
History and images courtesy of Llanishen Local History Society
Llanishen, CF14 SLZ – Open Market Sales